Home > Uncategorized > Page 18 & Viewing Submissions on Tuesday…

Page 18 & Viewing Submissions on Tuesday…

Just finished a full two-page spread I’ve planned out for the middle of the book. A beautiful, quiet scene @ The Calling River. The Calling River is a place where the Plains Cree believed they could hear the spirits of those who’d passed on to the Hunting Grounds. Can’t give away too much more than that, however. But it’s nice to be more than halfway done the first draft. There is a lot of work left to be done. After the first draft, I’ll want to go over it one or two times, make sure I’ve got the “history” accurate and all the wording is how I want. Then, of course, P and M might want me to make some alterations, adjustments. Have to factor in for that. I’m really pleased with the first draft. Here I’m concerned with getting down a well-thought-out, solid story. It’s been my goal all along to have that as a priority and I feel that I’m accomplishing it. Really a story about family, loss and love. Trying not to make it too sad (as I tend to do), but really, it’s a sad story at first. There’s no getting around it. I have a scene or two planned around a competition between two camps of Plains Cree, so I think that will be fun. Then it’s on to the Thirst Dance, and the final climax before heading back the present for an end to book 1…and a cliffhanger until book 2 comes out.

Meeting with the pub on Tue (www.pandmpress.com)…we’re reviewing submissions that artists have sent in. I’ve been able to see some of each artist’s submissions, and I have to tell you…WOW. I think that any one of the artists would be able to do a great job. We’re looking for the person who will be able to make the story completely come to life…to breathe. And the art really has to be poetry without words. Something nobody’s seen before maybe. High expectations, high ambitions. I’m excited for Tuesday. Things are looking really good.

  1. Wai Tien
    August 4, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Hi David, I’m trying to pass on a submission for your “Generations” project, but it seems your publisher’s email is full. I’ve been trying since Friday, to no avail. Is there perhaps another email I can send to? Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Wai Tien.

    • August 4, 2009 at 2:44 pm

      They’re open today, I would simply call their office number and advise why you’re calling. The deadline was Saturday so if it’s understandable why you missed it perhaps they’ll let you send something in. Their number should be on the website. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

